Fearless

blog be fearless

Life is full of beauty and it is also full of struggles. I have managed to do some pretty incredible things considering all of the challenges I have faced. I think in the face of my challenges, I tend to stumble upon my strength. (Oh, there you are strength!) Sometimes it even lights a fire under me and pushes me to do things that I was afraid to do before. It gives me a little push. It gives me a feeling of, dare I say, ..fearlessness?

Now to be perfectly honest, I don’t know if this is a legit fearlessness, or if it’s more of an inner mantra where inside I am saying to myself, “I am fearless” in order to push through whatever it is I am dealing with or going through. But either way, it works for me. I believe it, I’m going with it, and I’m using it to my advantage! (rawr)

Feeling fearless is the perfect time to create things. Writing is my first love and has always been my savior when I had no one to talk to about my feelings. But sometimes there are days when I can’t put my feelings into words, and for those times I turn to art as a form of release. I’ve been dabbling with acrylic painting, oil pastels and watercolors. I’m also studying and playing with mixed media, and art journaling. (I’m in love with art journaling!)  I’m open to everything and I’m fascinated by all of it. I’m kind of trying everything out and exploring what feels best to ME.

The great thing I’m finding on my art journey is that if nothing else, it is good practice for self love and letting go.

I practice self love by carving out some much needed time for myself. As a stay at home mom of 16 month old twins this is huge for me. It’s a gift to myself to spend even a little time each day doing something that I want to do, and that makes ME feel happy and fulfilled. It is a form of meditation at times too which I am also a fan of.

I practice letting go by having to accept the imperfect and the unexpected. I practice letting go by being flexible if I make “mistakes” by simply shifting it into a new direction (which sometimes works out even better!).

There are no rules in art. Which is both freeing and intimidating at the same time. I try to approach it with the openness of a child. Children aren’t afraid. They don’t think, they just DO. That is magical. I always try to keep that in mind when fear tries to creep in on me. (Get out fear! You’re not allowed here.)

I’ve had a lot of my dreams on pause for a very long time for various reasons. But if you really want to do something, you just gotta jump in and do it! Don’t let fear keep you frozen. Be fearless. Or fake it in the beginning if you have to but don’t you dare stay stuck! Be fearless, let go, and create something beautiful and meaningful to YOU.

Fearlessness. Something great is sure to come of it. At least that’s what I keep telling myself. 🙂

blog fearless

2 thoughts on “Fearless

  1. Love this so much! Right before I made a GIGANTIC (and terrifying) career move, I kept writing little reminders to myself. This is the message to me still on my pinboard right above my desk: “Fear kills dreams. Fear kills hope. NO FEAR. Don’t allow your emotions to control you. Don’t give up. Don’t give in. You want it? Then you have to go all out to have it. YOU are in control.” I didn’t make that up – I took notes on a speech – so no credit to Natalie Novak for that. 🙂 Thank you for your honest and beautiful blog. xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thank you. I’ve been writing privately all my life but I’m new to blogging. I love it. When I was experiencing a lot of anxiety I knew I needed to do something different I’m a stay at home mom of twin babies and while I love it and all, I needed something of my own too. I started art journaling and writing again and the anxiety went away. Win win. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

