Black and White Collage Canvas

I can remember sitting on the floor in my room as a teenager with a pile of various magazines next to me, carefully cutting out pictures and words that spoke to me. I had everything from Metallica and Guns n Roses to TLC or Fleetwood Mac playing on my CD player. I would arrange many pages of collage art in an old notebook I kept just for that purpose. I also dedicated 2 small walls in my room to my collage art that I taped down directly onto the wall. I remember how much I loved those walls because they felt very personal to me.

Looking back on that, I smile. I smile because that was a time in my life when I felt I didn’t know much about who I was. I smile because here I am as a grown adult sitting on the floor with my pile of magazines, peacefully cutting out words and images for my art projects that I do now. I guess at the core of things, I may have known myself a little more than I thought back then. Who knew!:)

This black and white collage canvas was inspired by a YouTube video I watched several months ago. (I wish I took note of the young lady’s name who showed the technique.) I’ve been incorporating some light collaging into some of my art journaling but I had been wanting to experiment with it on a canvas for some time now.

I bought an Artist’s Loft gallery wrapped canvas at Michael’s. I googled black and white tumblr images and selected ones I liked and printed them.  I cut everything out and used Tim Holtz distress ink to border a few of the pieces to make them stand out a little more. After deciding how I wanted to arrange everything I used a matte mod podge to paste them all down in place and then sealed it all in with a gloss finish mod podge for a little shine and painted the edges of the canvas with black acrylic paint.

This was fun and light and I’m excited to do a couple more I have in mind.

Art therapy. Can’t beat it.

Leave a Reply

