Gwen Stefani Collage Canvas

I heart Gwen Stefani. I mean, who doesn’t? My sister and I are big fans so I am surprising her with this black and white Gwen collage I have been working on as a gift to her.

I started with a square wrapped canvas by Artist Loft. I painted the whole thing, (sides too), with black acrylic paint.

I spent a lot of time on the internet looking for the perfect Gwen pics and printed them out in various sizes. I also added a few lyrics from a couple of our favorite songs.

The most challenging part about creating a collage canvas is fitting all the pieces together into a nice looking puzzle. Luckily! I am a puzzle person and I don’t give up easily. This one took me a several tries before I got it just right but I loved the end result. Gluing everything down in the right order gets tricky too as you need the pieces to overlap in certain areas just so. I highly recommend playing with different layouts beforehand until you feel good about the look you’re going for. I take pics when I like what I see so I have something to refer back to when I go to paste everything down.

And then I finish with a glossy sealant, like a gloss mod podge for some sheen.

Why all black and white? I just happen to like the way it looks. I may play around with a colored one soon however and see how it goes. My mom has requested a Wizard of Oz theme canvas. I may have to incorporate some mixed media into that one. The ruby slippers just have to show off some red sparkle right? Right. So stay tuned to see what I can come up with for that.

Have a great day everyone! 🙂

Leave a Reply

