Mission Inspiration April 2016

Here is my contribution to this month’s April Mission Inspiration challenge that I participate in. I love this group. It is very inspiring to see everyone’s varied and creative takes on the mission prompts. Join us on facebook if you want to get in on the fun. https://www.facebook.com/groups/missioninspiration/

These were the prompts we were to use for this month’s art journal page. And here is how I went about my process for this one.

First of all, I’m really liking my large Strathmore Visual Art Journal right now so that is what I used for this one. The first step was to add any size squares of patterned paper. Immediately a checkerboard visual came to mind for me. Directly followed by ideas for an Alice in Wonderland theme. (I’m excited for the new Alice movie coming out. How bout you!) I sat with the Alice idea for several days as details came to mind on how I could use all these steps to make that happen.

I created my checkerboard with a black/dark grey metallic paper I had here.

Step 2 was to add a thin layer of paint, any color. I chose a silver metallic paint with “the looking glass” feel in mind.  (It didn’t photograph very well unfortunately. A bit light.)

Step 3 was to add texture paste through a stencil. I chose a tiny squares pattern by Prima. I took some Ranger Texture Paste and added some teal acrylic paint and mixed them together to add some color to my page.

Step 4 was to add a paint color or spritz. I originally chose a pretty shimmery blue spray from Lindy’s Stamp Gang (Nantucket Pearls). It’s a beautiful spray but I could see that I needed more of a pop of color so I used a Dylusions Ink Spray in “crushed grape” over it.

Step 5 was to use ticket ephemera. I didn’t have much to use here, so I sort of created my own ephemera in its place. I drew out the Admit One ticket on a pink pattered polka dot paper, cut out in the shape of a ticket, and distressed the edges a bit. I drew the tea cups with gel pens. I drew up the playing cards with gel pens and then used black ink and a mini ink blending tool to distress the sides. I drew the pocket watch and colored it and created the 10/6 card like on the mad hatter’s hat. And then I did find a sort of real ticket ephemera to include as well from a Recollections notepad I have which I wrote Mad Tea Party on.

Step 6- make marks using bubble wrap. I imagined bubbles so I partially mixed some blue with some white acrylic paint and applied here and there.

Step 7 -washi tape fragments. I didn’t have any to use, so I used some dark pink polka dot ribbon instead.

Step 8- Add quote or journaling.  “We’re all Mad here” to go with my Alice theme.

Step 9- Add stamped image in ink or paint. For this step I took “painting the roses red” quite literally and painted red acrylic paint onto a rose stamp and stamped that right on. This was my first time using paint on a rubber stamp and I have to say it worked quite well. But note to self, don’t forget to wash the paint off the stamp right after! (Facepalm!)

Step 10- Create border or frame around your page. I used a dark green gel pen and drew a twisty green vine all around the borders connecting the 4 roses in the corners.

And that is that.  Thanks for stopping by. Have a beautiful day!  🙂

Leave a Reply

