Mission inspiration- May 2016

With brave wings she flies.

This month’s Mission Inspiration challenge for May 2016. This challenge included a couple fun new things which I had never tried yet, like blowing paint with a straw, and I also got to try out my Ranger Liquid Pearls for the first time too.

Here are the challenge prompts we were given for this month.

Step 1- Apply gesso to your page.  (Note on gesso: I always use a brush to paint on the gesso but I have seen some videos of plastic cards being used to spread the gesso instead and decided to finally try that method for myself. Let’s just say, I may never use a brush again! Much easier and faster in my opinion.)

Step 2 – Use 3 gelatos or water soluble pigments. I selected 3 gelatos to start my background and went with a yellow, peach, and dark pink.

Step 3- Blow paint with a straw. I liked this effect. Of course this method has a mind of its own and the paint kind of does what it wants to some degree. Just go with it. 🙂

Step 4 – Use a stencil with a medium of your choice. I used my chicken wire stencil by Crafter’s Workshop and a sponge to apply magenta acrylic paint through the stencil.

Step 5- Add texture with modeling paste. I used the stars portion of a Heidi Swapp Confetti stencil and mixed some purple acrylic paint with some  Ranger texture paste to add some color to the stars. (Love this texture paste. It works so nicely!)

Step 6- Add collage elements. I stamped what I call my fairy butterfly stamp onto some watercolor paper and then cut it out and glued it down. This stamp is an Inkadinkado Mindcapes clear stamp which I happen to love. I also cut out some mini butterflies from a patterned paper to cluster around my fairy butterfly.

Step 7- Play with pens or pencils. I colored in some parts of the fairy butterfly stamp to give her some color and added minor details to the mini butterflies.

Step 8- Add a border. I went simple and used a darker peachy pink metallic gelato and smeared it in for a border.

Step 9. Use some verbage somewhere. “With brave wings she flies.”  I used alphabet cling stamps for the bigger letters and mini alphabet stamps I found in the dollar bin at Michael’s for the smaller letters.

Step 10 – Add stickers, glitter glue, or gems. I used Ranger Liquid Pearls in lavender lace for this step. It was a pretty effect which you can’t see as well in picture as in person. But it looks like shimmery specks all over the page. Very pretty.

And that is it.

I was late getting this mission completed so the next one is already right around the corner on June 4. I can’t wait to see what our new challenge will be. Join this group on Facebook if you would like to participate!

4 thoughts on “Mission inspiration- May 2016

Leave a Reply

