1 in 700

This is Zack. Zack was born with a cleft lip. Today, he is a photographer who is dedicating himself to a beautiful cause that I thought was worth sharing for anyone who might be interested in helping him meet his goal. He is working on putting together a photobook called “1 in 700” which is the statistic rate for how many babies are born with cleft lip and/or palate. He is planning an international tour to personally meet fellow people around the world with cleft lip, cleft palate, and other craniofacial deformities. He also wishes to photograph many of them to include in his photo book to remind people like himself that they are not alone.

His vision really speaks to me since my daughter was also born with a cleft lip and palate. In this short video, he goes on to describe how it feels to grow up with cleft lip and the types of emotional challenges you may face. His book is intended to help what he calls “cleftie’s” (cleft cutie’s) to know that they are not alone and to see that there are plenty of people out there just like them. It makes me tear up just thinking about how important that can be to someone who may be struggling with that. My daughter is only 2 at this time, but I do wonder sometimes about how she will be affected by this down the road.

As of now I can say that I’m truly amazed at how well much she is thriving. She has gone through 2 surgeries and we are stunned at how beautiful the results are. She has a minor scar on her lip but the before and after is truly incredible. However, as we are all aware, we all face insecurities down the road in one form or another which is why I hope to see Zack succeed with his “1 in 700” book. I don’t know Zack but I came across his campaign video from a post on a cleft family group page that I follow on Facebook and felt urged to share.

If you are interested in knowing more about this cause, you can watch the short video above where Zack describes it much better than I can. He also has a go fund me page if you would like to make a donation to help raise money for his international tour. Best of luck to him! I hope he reaches his goal which I know will help so many.

https://www.gofundme.com/1in700

 

3 thoughts on “1 in 700

      1. @wanderwolf that is sweet. I don’t actually know Zack personally. I came across his cause on a cleft family site on Facebook and thought I would help spread the word on what he is doing. Maybe you can check out his 1 in 700 site for more info. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

