Always be on the lookout for the presence of wonder

“Always be on the lookout for the presence of wonder”

December 2016 Mission Inspiration art journal challenge.

To be honest, this month’s page gave me a lot of trouble. I struggled with various steps. I ran into several random obstacles. I stumbled upon a couple of mistakes and had to creatively find my way out of them. Ironically, all of these things pretty much sum up what the year of 2016 looked like for me as well. Including the ways I went about handling things. I may walk away from a struggle at times to take some space and collect myself, but I always bring myself back around determined to figure it out. 

But most importantly, I never give up. And I always learn new things along the way. 


These were the prompts given to us for December. This was the very promising beginning. Me, some tea, some book text and some matte medium pod podge. 

Bring it. 


This is after the first couple steps, covering the page with book texts and a thin layer of watered down blue acrylic paint. 


Step 3 was to add texture paste through a stencil. I used some bubbles on a Heidi Swapp confetti stencil and Ranger texture paste. Then I used a Lindys Stamp Gang starburst spray in “whale watch blue” to give color to the bubbles. I also sprayed Dylusions ink spray in Vibrant turquoise across the bottom. I had cut out some trees from a magazine and was trying to decide where I wanted to place them.


I won’t go into each of the trials and errors I faced after this point. Let’s just say many things were done, UNdone, and REdone before reaching the final step. And it is ALL good. 👍🏼 As my sweet gram would say, “Such is life.”

And here is the end result. 


I hope everyone is having a wonderful holiday season filled with lots of love, friends, family, and good food! I’m looking forward to seeing what 2017 has to offer. Happy new year everyone! 🥂

If you would like to join the art journaling group on Facebook come check it out! 

http://www.facebook.com/groups/missioninspiration/

Leave a Reply

