Genesis ~Mission Inspiration Jan 2017

“And suddenly you know….it’s time to start something new and trust the magic of beginnings.” 

It’s a brand new year. I’ve been art journaling for a couple of years now. I’m so grateful for how much I have learned along the way and continue to learn every time I sit down facing a blank piece of paper. I’m grateful for this mission inspiration group for all their shared creativity, and for the monthly prompts that challenge me to try new ways of doing things. I always feel that art helps me practice things that also come up in life. I practice letting go and not taking things too seriously. I practice taking risks and learning from mistakes. I practice self care by making space and taking the time for myself to create.  And probably most importantly I practice letting go and just having fun. 

Now. On to the challenge details. Here are the prompts we were given for the month on January. I enjoyed the couple of new twists that were added which included a suggested color palette and a word theme. 


First step was to add torn junk mail fragments. Followed by strips of ribbon or trim. 


Next step was to cover with gesso or paint. I went ahead and did both. I applied a thin layer of very watered down gesso.  And then I added a couple shades of blue.

Next step was to add some journaling. I wrote, “And suddenly you know….it’s time to start something new and trust the magic of beginnings.” 


I added a big blue swirly circle in the middle of the page where I knew I was going to glue down my image of the earth.

Then I added splatters of cobalt blue and a metallic yellow.


Next I added my focal image along with a butterfly on top which of course represents transformation. 

I included the word Genesis which was one of the words on the list. Genesis means “beginning.” My family and I have a lot of new beginning’s coming up this year so that is what inspired my page this month. 


And that is it. The next challenge starts feb 4th I believe. If you want to join in these monthly creative challenges here is the link,

https://m.facebook.com/groups/missioninspiration/

Have a great day everyone. And happy new year! ❤

Leave a Reply

