A New Season


No matter how long the winter, spring is sure to follow. – A proverb

If you watch how nature deals with adversity, continually renewing itself, you can’t help but learn. 

Everything is everything. What is meant to be will be. After winter, must come spring. Change, it comes eventually. -Lauryn Hill

I love new seasons. Each season offers so much new beauty.

Changing colors, cleansing rain, 

gentle breezes, winds of change. 

I never take for granted the unique beauty that each new season brings. 

When seasons change, it always feels like a good time for reflection. A good time for letting go and starting new.  I like to get quiet and think about what things in my life could use some change. Sometimes I take walks and reflect. Sometimes I write in my journal. Sometimes I meditate. And sometimes I create things in my art journal and see what comes up. 

Right now I’ve been focusing myself on what I’m grateful for. A lot has changed in the last six months of my life. I’ve been forced to let go of so much. But no matter how much I’ve lost, I know I’m still so blessed to have some of the most important things that gets me through. A loving rock of a husband, 4 beautiful kids who mean the world to me, a few good friends and family members who love and support me through it all, and a very strong faith. And when it comes right down to it, that is a lot!

Things will change eventually. And then……..they’ll change again.

In between all the changes, I’m just learning to ride the waves. 💗 🌊 

Art Details:

I did this page on a Prima watercolor pad. I was playing with a new method that I’ve seen in many art videos. I applied a fairly thick layer of gesso and then used a putty knife to press down and lift up here and there to create texture and then I let it dry overnight. 

I then sprayed my page with water and applied different colors of watercolor. Then I sprayed again and tilted the page in different directions to let the colors drip and play together on the page. 

I used Tim Holz Ideology tissue paper scraps (which I love!) and mod podged them down. 

Word stickers also by Tim Holtz. 

And a purple archival ink border by Ranger. 

Have a beautiful day everyone. Live, love, and create. 

And ride the waves of change. 🦋

Leave a Reply

